AFI World 9s logo

The 2024 World 9s is open to teams from Melbourne’s multicultural communities.

There are two simple criteria for player eligibility – that a player was born in the country or has a parent or grandparent born in the country which he or she is representing.

Teams that have competed at the World 9s in Melbourne are listed below.

  • Australia
  • Chile
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Great Britain
  • Greece
  • Malta
  • Nauru
  • New Zealand
  • Samoa
  • South Africa
  • South Sudan
  • Switzerland
  • Tonga
  • Wales
  • United Nations