Darwin 9s logo
2024 Darwin 9s
Australian Football International (AFI) is pleased to confirm that the Darwin 9s will be returning to the NT on Saturday 10 August, 2024.

The inaugural Darwin 9s tournament was held in Darwin on 7 August, 2021. The competing teams were NTFL clubs – PINTS, Darwin, Wanderers, Tracy Village (Women’s Division) and Nightcliff, St Marys, Darwin, Wanderers (Men’s Division).

The 2022 Darwin 9s were held on 13 August, 2022. The competing teams were Timor-Leste Crocs, Ireland, Darwin Lions, US Marines (Division 2) and Team Larrakia, Greece, New Zealand, Pacific Chiefs (Division 1).

The 2023 Darwin 9s expanded to 12 teams and were held on 13 August. The competing teams were Larrakia, United Nations, Nightcliff, Palmerston (Women’s Division), US Marines, Philippines, United Nations, NT Masters (Division 2) and Team Larrakia, Greece, Timor-Leste Crocs, Pacific Chiefs (Division 1).

Click here to view the 2022 photos on the official AFI Facebook page.

2024 Event Format

  • One day round robin tournament
  • Rugby Park, Marrara
  • 9-a-side (maximum of 15 players per squad)
  • 12 competing teams, representing Darwin’s multicultural communities
  • 2 x Playing Fields
  • 3 Divisions – Division 1, Division 2 & Women
  • Matches will commence every 40 minutes to facilitate a carnival type atmosphere
  • Each match consists of 2 x 15 minute halves, plus 3 minutes for half-time
  • Each team will play a minimum of 3 matches during the event
  • 3 x Grand Finals – Division 1, Division 2 & Women