AFI World 9s logo
2025 World 9s
Australian Football International is pleased to confirm that the AFI World 9s will return to Melbourne in February 2025!

The inaugural World 9s were held in Melbourne on Saturday 16 February, 2019. The venue was Lakeside Stadium, Albert Park. It was a historic day for our great game, as we launched our strategy to have Footy 9s included in the Olympic Games.

The World 9s is now an annual event in Melbourne, with the competition expanding to multiple playing fields and Divisions.

2024 – South Sudan (Division 1), Nauru (Division 2), Australia (Women)
2023 – South Sudan (Division 1), United Nations (Division 2), Samoa (Women)
2022 – Samoa (Division 1), Chile (Division 2), Nauru (Women)
2021 – South Sudan (Division 1), Chile (Division 2), Ireland (Women)
2019 – Italy (Division 1), Switzerland (Division 2)

2024 TEAMS

DIVISION 1 MEN: Cook Islands, Italy, Nauru, Samoa, South Sudan, United Nations
DIVISION 2 MEN: Chile, Nauru, Switzerland, Wales
WOMEN’S DIVISION: Australia, Fiji, Nauru, Samoa, South Sudan, United Nations

2024 Media

Live stream: Watch every match from the World 9s footy carnival
AFI World 9s first step on road to Olympics berth for Australian rules football
AFL legend and AFI World 9s ambassador Kevin Sheedy huge fan of ‘wonderful concept’

2023 Media

Live stream: Nations battle for global glory in World 9s, streamed on KommunityTV
Former AFL player Majak Daw urged his players to gain community respect through footy
US Amazons determined to take Footy 9s concept across the globe


2025 Event Format

  • 16 national teams (representing Melbourne’s multicultural communities)
  • Box Hill Rugby Club, Melbourne
  • 3 x Playing Fields
  • 9-a-side (maximum of 15 players per squad)
  • Matches will commence every 40 minutes to facilitate a carnival type atmosphere
  • Each match consists of 2 x 15 minute halves, plus 3 minutes for half-time
  • Each team will play a minimum of 3 matches during the event
  • Each team will play in their national colours
  • 3 Grand Finals – Division 1, Division 2 & Women’s