2005 EU Cup logo

The EU Cup was created as a 9-a-side European Championship to assist the growth of Australian Football in Europe.

The first EU Cup was held in London in 2005, with 10 national teams competing. Subsequent EU Cups were held in Hamburg (2007), Prague (2008) and Samobor (2009), with 15 national teams competing. Now renamed the Euro Cup, it is a major event on the international footy calendar.

Crucial to the success of the EU Cup was the creation of a unique set of playing rules, allowing the game to be played on rectangular fields.