Dutch Team of the Century logo

Numerous players of Dutch heritage have been involved in Australian Rules at the highest levels for many years. This includes such notable former players as Paul Vander Haar, Matt de Boer, Robbert and Kim Klomp, Richie Vandenburg, Ben Rutten, Rudi Mandemaker, Hans Verstegen, Nathan van Berlo, David Hale and Matthew Kreuzer.

Today, those of Dutch-heritage taking the field include Nick Vlastuin, Cam Zuurhar, Josh Gibcus, David Swallow, Callum Ah Chee and the de Koning boys, Tom and Sam.

Australian Football International (AFI) is pleased to announce it is honouring the important contribution of the Dutch to the game of Australian Rules through official recognition of the Dutch Team of the Century.

The Dutch Team of the Century will be formally acknowledged at a function at the Dutch Club Abel Tasman in Carnegie, Melbourne, on Sunday 13 October 2024.

For further details on the event or the Dutch Team of the Century, contact Brian Clarke on 0435 092 987.

Selection Criteria
To be eligible for selection in the Dutch Team of the Century players need to meet the following criteria:

  • has played a minimum of 50 AFL/VFL games or a minimum of 100 WAFL/SANFL games; and,
  • has proven Dutch heritage, that is, they were born in the Netherlands, or they have at least one Dutch parent, Dutch grandparents or great-grandparents.

Individual selection in the Dutch Team of the Century will be based on the total number of games played, goals scored, premierships, leadership roles and club / league awards. In other words, the more games played, and accolades, the more likely it is that a player will be selected in the side.

Dutch Team of the Century jumper