Darwin 9s logo

Footy 9s a great success in Darwin

15 August 2022

History was made in Darwin on the weekend, with the INPEX World 9s being held in Darwin for the first time.

Each of the 8 competing teams represented their communities, with teams being split into two Divisions. Division 1 consisted of Greece, New Zealand, Pacific Chiefs and Team Larrakia, whilst Division 2 was contested by Timor-Leste Crocs, Darwin Lions, Ireland and the US Marines.

It was great to see a number of former AFL players taking the field on the day. Brent Renouf (Hawthorn/Port Adelaide) represented his country of birth New Zealand – whilst Daniel Motlop (North Melbourne, Port Adelaide) and Shannon Motlop (North Melbourne) played for Team Larrakia.

They were joined by Steven Motlop (Geelong/Port Adelaide), who had just retired from playing in the AFL, and his class was obvious. Steven was a very worthy winner of Best on Ground in the Division 1 Grand Final, with Team Larrakia defeating Greece by 2 goals in a great contest.

Earlier, Ireland were no match for the Timor-Leste Crocs in the Division 2 Grand Final, with the Crocs running out winners 15 goals to 1. Ryan Mu was voted best afield by the umpires, who did a fantastic job throughout the day.

AFI would like to thank INPEX, No More, Charlie King, the Federal Member for Solomon (Mr Luke Gosling MP), the NT Minister for Sport (Hon. Kate Worden), the NT Minister for Multicultural Affairs (Hon. Ngaree Ah Kit) and the Multicultural Council of the NT for their great support of the event.


Team Larrakia 11 d. New Zealand 6
Greece 8 d. Pacific Chiefs 7
Timor-Leste Crocs 8 d. US Marines 2
Ireland 9 d. Darwin Lions 4

New Zealand 7 drew Pacific Chiefs 7
Greece 8 d. Larrakia 7
Darwin Lions 4 d. US Marines 3
Timor-Leste Crocs 7 d. Ireland 4

Women’s Match
Darwin Buffettes 15 d. St Marys 0

New Zealand 8 d. Greece 5
Pacific Chiefs 8 drew Team Larrakia 8
Ireland 3 d. US Marines 1
Timor-Leste Crocs 5 d. Darwin Lions 2

Timor-Leste Crocs 15 d. Ireland 1
Best on Ground: Ryan Mu (Timor-Leste Crocs)

Team Larrakia 6 d. Greece 4
Best on Ground: Steven Motlop (Team Larrakia)

Tournament MVP
Anthony Giannini (Greece)