Aussie Rules UK logo

The ARUK National League was established by Aussie Rules UK (ARUK) in 2007, to give locals the chance to play Aussie Rules on rugby grounds.

The focus was also on ensuring teams did not have to travel too far in order to play matches, so 3 Divisions were created – North, Central and South.

ARUK North Division

  • Newcastle Centurions
  • Hartlepool Dockers
  • Durham Swans
  • Middlesbrough Hawks

ARUK Central Division

  • Huddersfield Rams
  • Birmingham Bears
  • Liverpool Eagles
  • Leeds Bombers

ARUK Southern Divisionn

  • Bournemouth Demons
  • Southampton Titans
  • Brighton Black Swans
  • Sussex Swans
  • Chippenham Redbacks
  • Portsmouth Pirates

Further, ARUK also established Aussie Rules Wales, which was eventually renamed the Welsh Australian Rules Football League. This led to the first international match between England and Wales, with the Dragonslayers taking on the Red Dragons in Cardiff.

The best players in the ARUK National League were also chosen to represent England at the annual 9-a-side European Championships, the EU Cup.